Metro Mayors Alliance commits to work as one Edmonton Metro Region, including the city of Edmonton and Parkland County, among others

The Metro Mayors Alliance signed a Memorandum of Understanding outlining a commitment to plan, decide, and act as one Edmonton Metro Region on regionally significant issues Monday morning. The Alliance say the MOU is “the first step in a process recommended by the Advisory Panel on Metro Edmonton’s Future.”

Nine regional mayors – whose communities represent 95 per cent of the region’s population and 96 per cent of its assessment base appointed the Advisory Panel, charging them with providing advice on how to optimize the region in the coming decades.

Be Ready or Be Left Behind, the panel’s final report recommended that Strathcona County, Sturgeon County, City of Edmonton, Leduc County, City of Leduc, City of Fort Saskatchewan, Parkland County, City of Spruce Grove, and City of St. Albert build regional systems in three critical areas: economic development; public transit; land use and infrastructure.

Read the full story at

Victoria Krisman
Victoria Krisman is Interactive Media Specialist and Communications Manager for the Intelligent Community Forum.
See other pages related to Parkland County ICF Member News

Showing 1 reaction

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.